Docomomo US has the pleasure to announce eleven selected winners of the 2015 Modernism in America Award program. These exceptional projects are emblematic of the work going on all over the country and represent buildings and building typologies of postwar society in the United States. The winners include:

Awards of Excellence

TWA Flight Center at JFK International Airport (New York)
Ingalls Hockey Rink Restoration and Expansion (Connecticut)
Palm Springs Art Museum (California)
Olan G. & Aida T. Hafley House (California)
Survey of Modern Architecture in New Haven (Connecticut)
Save the Dome: Public Education Effort for the Harris County Domed Stadium (the Astrodome) (Houston)

Citations of Merit

Cummins Irwin Conference Center & Office Building (Indiana)
Opa – Locka Airport Hangar 102 (Florida)
National Gallery of Art East Building Exterior Stone Repair (Washington D.C.)
McGregor Reflecting Pool (Michigan)
Lewis and Clark Branch Library (Missouri)


The projects recognized for the Modernism in America Awards (#ModernismAwards) highlight the importance of such modern typologies as transportation centers, sports arenas, banks, schools, libraries and landscapes. While often at the center of intense preservation efforts, they deserve and can be preserved in a meaningful and productive way that enhances their presence and value in their respective communities. 

2015 Modernism in America Jury

The independent design and survey prize jury was chaired by Michael Mills, FAIA, who is a founding partner of the architecture firm Mills + Schnoering Architects, LLC and an expert in the preservation of historic architecture.

Renowned modern architecture authors, educators and speakers on the jury included:

Gretchen Pfaehler, AIA is the President of the Association for Preservation Technology International and a leader in the Architecture and Preservation fields with over two decades of experience in the preservation, restoration and renovation of historic buildings and landscapes globally.

Dietrich Neumann is professor of the History of Modern Architecture and Urbanism at Brown University whose research concentrates on European and American architecture from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Jack Pyburn, FAIA is an architect and partner of Lord Aeck Sargent and adjunct professor at Georgia Institute of Technology’s College of Architecture.

Theodore Prudon, FAIA, FAPT is a leading expert on the preservation of modern architecture and a practicing architect in New York City and the President of Docomomo US.

2015 Advocacy Award

The Docomomo US Modernism in America Advocacy Awards were awarded by the Docomomo US Board of Directors.

The Awards were awarded during the Docomomo US National Symposium on Friday, June 5, 2015 at the IDS Building in Minneapolis, Minnesota.


The Modernism in America Awards is the only national program that celebrates the people and projects working to preserve, restore and rehabilitate our modern heritage sensitively and productively. The program seeks to advance those preservation efforts; to increase appreciation for the period and to raise awareness of the on-going threats against modern architecture and design.

The awards acknowledge the substantial contribution preservation in general and the postwar heritage in particular makes to the economic and cultural life of our cities and towns and their respective communities. The awards also set a standard as to what can be accomplished with the productive preservation of these projects.


The 2015 Modernism in America Awards is made possible through the generous support of the following sponsors and supporters:

DSGN Associates
Keystone Preservation Group
Mills + Schnoering Architects, LLC
Prudon & Partners, LLC
Barry and Judith Solar