Nominate a project that inspires for the
2020 Modernism in America Awards 

Now in its seventh year, the Awards celebrate the documentation, preservation and re­use of modern buildings, structures and landscapes built in the United States or on U.S.territory. The Awards recognize building owners, design teams, advocacy groups and preservation organizations that have made significant efforts to retain, restore and advocate for the aesthetic and cultural value of such places. 


Early nominations must be submitted by 11:59 PM on April 30, 2020
All nominations must be submitted by 11:59 PM on May 29, 2020

How to Submit

Register through the online nomination form and submit all materials to Large files can be submitted via a file share program such as Dropbox, WeTransfer, Sharepoint, Google Drive, etc. 

Mark your calendars

Join us for the 2020 Modernism in America Awards Ceremony



The Awards Ceremony is set for Thursday, November 12, 2020 in New York City at the Design Within Reach Third Avenue showroom.



Support the work of Docomomo US and our Awardees by becoming a sponsor of the 2020 Modernism in America Awards. 

Sponsorship and event registration will open later this year. Sign up for our newsletter to be alerted when they open.

Lead Sponsor

Design Within Reach

Design Within Reach makes authentic modern design accessible. When the company was founded in 1998, the classics were very difficult to find. DWR changed that, making innovative works by iconic designers accessible for the first time and continuing to offer the best in modern design – past, present and future – ever since.

Learn more

2020 Jury

The Modernism in America Awards jury will be announced in early April.


The Modernism in America Awards is the only national program that celebrates the people and projects working to preserve, restore and rehabilitate our modern heritage sensitively and productively. The program seeks to advance those preservation efforts; to increase appreciation for the period and to raise awareness of the on-going threats against modern architecture and design while acknowledging the substantial contribution preservation in general and the postwar heritage in particular makes to the economic and cultural life of our communities.


Past Modernism in America Award Winners