Brian Lee, FAIA, LEED AP

Image details

Brian Lee, FAIA, is a Design Partner at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP (SOM), one of the largest and most influential architecture, interior design, engineering, and urban planning firms in the world. He received his Bachelor of Arts in Architecture with Highest Honors from the University of California, Berkeley in 1976 and his Master of Architecture with Commendation from Harvard University Graduate School of Design in 1978. After practicing in the SOM San Francisco office for 28 years, he joined the Chicago office in 2007. Brian Lee’s portfolio encompasses an array of award-winning domestic and international projects on all scales, including the Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch, and the China World Trade Center in Beijing. His work has been recognized by the American Institute of Architects (AIA), Urban Land Institute, American Library Association, the Chicago Athenaeum, MIPIM, and the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat. Brian has lectured, taught, and participated in studio reviews or Dean’s committees at Harvard, UC Berkeley, Stanford, California College of Arts, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Virginia Tech, and TU Delft; served on AIA, Athenaeum, Marcus Prize, and Spark juries; and has been published worldwide. His work was exhibited in the 2004 Venice and Beijing Biennales, featured at the 2008 World Architecture Festival in Barcelona, and the 2015 Chicago Biennial. Brian plays an active role in the community with the Urban Land Institute, Chicago Architecture Foundation, the Economic Club of Chicago, and the Chinese American Service League of Chicago. He is a former board member of Habitat for Humanity San Francisco, Chinatown Community Development Corporation San Francisco, and is Director Emeritus of On Lok Inc., a nationally recognized leader in community healthcare. Brian is a registered NCARB architect and in multiple states across the nation, and is a LEED accredited professional. He is a member of the AIA and was named to its College of Fellows in 2008.