New Harmony Atheneum at 40



New Harmony Atheneum

401 N. Arthur St.
New Harmony, IN
Image details

Completed in 1979, the Atheneum is an internationally celebrated and award-winning example of modern architecture. Notable for its light and clean spaces, the Atheneum is a three-story building with a long ramp and overlaying grids that provide beautiful views of the town, Wabash River and surrounding countryside from just about anywhere inside and on the spacious viewing deck on the roof. It was designed so that visitors can take a specific path through the building and then emerge into New Harmony itself.

The Atheneum was a breakthrough commission in Richard Meier’s career. It was his first major commission; and the model and architectural drawings are now part of the permanent architecture collection at New York’s Museum of Modern Art. Construction began in 1975 and was completed in 1979. The structure is clad in white porcelain panels and glass attached to a steel frame.

Pedestrian circulation through the building is a continuous experience all the way to the roof terrace and, from the ramp, to the community beyond. The Atheneum has received numerous design awards, including the Progressive Architecture Award for 1979, the American Institute of Architects Award in 1982, and the Twenty-five Year Award in 2008.

The University of Southern Indiana Foundation and Historic New Harmony invite you to help celebrate the 40th Anniversary of The Atheneum through a panel discussion, speaker series, and gala/afterparty.


Panel Discussion: The Future of New Harmony as a Cultural Town 

October 10th, 6:30 PM 

This event is free, but seating is limited. No registration is required.

A panel discussion with local and regional “role models” moderated by Mike Blake from WFIE's Midday with Mike. 

Role models include:

James Beeby, Dean of Liberal Arts at USI
Annette Buckland, Retail Entrepreneur and owner of The Mews
Jeremy Efroymson, Efroymson Family Fund
Fred Frayser, President Board of Trustees, Working Men’s Institute
Docey Lewis, Artist and Cultural Entrepreneur
Kent Parker, Investor and Philanthropist
George Rapp, Philanthropist, New Harmony Paint-Out
Kent Schuette, professor emeritus of architecture and urban design at Purdue University
Sherrianne Standley, Robert Lee Blaffer Foundation


Speaker Series: 200 Years of New Harmony: A Role Model for the Future

October 11, 2 -7 p.m. on Friday,

This event is free, but seating is limited. No registration is required.

Leaders from the world of art, preservation and architecture will discuss New Harmony's place as a role model for the future. Speakers include:

Karla Britton, currently a lecturer at Yale University focusing on the modern architect’s engagement with tradition in twentieth-century architecture and urbanism. 

Aaron Betsky, President of the School of Architecture at Taliesin, former Director of Cincinnati Art Museum. 

Michelangelo Sabatino, Professor and Director of the PhD Program in the College of Architecture, Illinois Institute of Technology, and a member of the Docomomo US Board of Directors. 

Silvia Rode, Chair of the Department of World Languages and Cultures and board member of the Center for Communal Studies at the University of Southern Indiana.

Ben Nicholson, professor of Architecture, School of the Art Institute of Chicago. 

Richard McCoy, founding director of Landmark Columbus, an organization that cares for and celebrates the world-renowned cultural heritage of Columbus, Indiana. 


Gala & Afterparty 

A reception and afterparty will be held on October 12 to cap off the 40th anniversary celebrations.