Docomomo US is pleased to announce nine winners of the 2017 Modernism in America Awards program. These projects are exemplary of the expanding need to restore midcentury projects and sets the bar for future preservation projects and efforts.

Awards of Excellence

Bell Works (New Jersey)
Yale Center for British Art (Connecticut)
Bubeshko Apartments (California)
Heroic (Massachusetts)
Save the Reactor (Washington) 

Citations of Merit

American Enterprise Group National Headquarters (Iowa)
Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer (Nebraska)
Boston University School of Law (Massachusetts)
Vincent G. Kling Mid-Century House (Pennsylvania)


The projects recognized for the Modernism in America Awards highlight the diversity of important modern buildings and sites – not only the iconic but also those that are regionally significant - and the increasing importance of regional forces and development. Bell Works and other projects emphasize the importance of partnerships between owners, architects and the community coming together to save and reinvigorate architecture that at one point faced demolition. They highlight the best of preservation practices where preservation often comes with complex financial viability and the need to adapt or add to a project in order for the whole to remain viable. As modern architecture continues to age and face threats of demolition or insensitive restoration, it is paramount to recognize that these projects can be preserved in a meaningful and productive ways that enhances their presence and value in their respective communities.

Docomomo US is pleased to partner with Design Within Reach for the 2017 Awards. The 2017 Modernism in America Awards will be awarded on the night of Friday, October 6, 2017 at the Design Within Reach Third Avenue Studio in New York City. Tickets and event sponsorship opportunities will be available shortly.

Modernism in America Awards

Announcing the 2017 Award Winners



Read the full announcement

2017 Modernism in America Jury

The design and survey prize jury was chaired by Frances Halsband, FAIA founding partner of Kliment Halsband Architects, a leading design firm in New York City known for its innovative work in architecture, master planning, historic preservation, and adaptive reuse for educational, cultural, civic, and government clients. She served as Dean of the School of Architecture at Pratt Institute and as an architectural advisor to Brown University, Harvard, and Smith College; was a former Commissioner of the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission and was the first woman to be elected president of the New York Chapter of the AIA.


Renowned critics, architects, authors, and educators also on the jury included:


Justin Davidson the architecture and classical music critic at New York magazine, where he writes about a broad range of urban, civic, and design issues. As a classical music and cultural critic at Newsday, he won a Pulitzer Prize for criticism in 2002.


Barbara Campagna, FAIA, LEED AP BC+C, has worked for the past 30 years as an architect, planner and historian – reinventing and restoring historic and existing buildings. She is the recipient of the National AIA Young Architect of the Year Award 2002 and was elevated to Fellowship in the AIA in 2009 as “the leading national architect and policymaker for the integration of preservation values into green building practices.”


Mark Pasnik, AIA is a founding principal of over,under, a Boston-based architecture and design practice, and is co-director of the pinkcomma gallery. Mark received the AIA Young Architects Award in 2013, was a member of the executive board of the Boston Society of Architects, and serves on the Boston Art Commission.


Robert Nauman, Ph.D, is an author and educator and currently teaches in the Department of Art and Art History at the University of Colorado in Boulder, where his research focuses on art and architectural history of the 19th and 20th centuries. Nauman also has served on the Board of Directors of the Society of Architectural Historians and currently is on the Board of Directors of Docomomo US.


Jack Pyburn, FAIA, partner of Lord Aeck Sargent and adjunct professor at Georgia Institute of Technology’s College of Architecture and serves on the Board of Directors of Docomomo US.


Theodore Prudon, FAIA, FAPT, FoIFI, BNADr is a leading expert on the preservation of modern architecture and a practicing architect in New York City and is the current President of Docomomo US.

Advocacy Award

The Docomomo US Modernism in America Advocacy Award was awarded by the Docomomo US Board of Directors. The Awards will be awarded on October 6, 2017 during a ceremony hosted by the 2017 Awards sponsor Design Within Reach in New York City.


The Modernism in America Awards is the only national program that celebrates the people and projects working to preserve, restore and rehabilitate our modern heritage sensitively and productively. The program seeks to advance those preservation efforts; to increase appreciation for the period and to raise awareness of the on-going threats against modern architecture and design.  


The awards acknowledge the substantial contribution preservation in general and the postwar heritage in particular makes to the economic and cultural life of our cities and towns and their respective communities. The awards also set a standard as to what can be accomplished with the productive preservation of these projects. 


Design Within Reach

Design Within Reach makes authentic modern design accessible. When the company was founded in 1998, the classics were very difficult to find. DWR changed that, making innovative works by iconic designers accessible for the first time and continuing to offer the best in modern design – past, present and future – ever since.

Learn more