• t shirt burberry
  • wholesale nfl jerseys china
  • 2015 Modernism in America Awards Winners

    Docomomo US has the pleasure to announce eleven selected winners of the 2015 Modernism in America Award program. These exceptional projects are emblematic of the work going on all over the country and represent buildings and building typologies of postwar society in the United States. The winners include:

    Awards of Excellence
    TWA Flight Center at JFK International Airport
    (New York)
    Ingalls Hockey Rink Restoration and Expansion (Connecticut)
    Palm Springs Art Museum (California)
    Olan G. & Aida T. Hafley House (California)
    Survey of Modern Architecture in New Haven (Connecticut)
    Save the Dome: Public Education Effort for the Harris County Domed Stadium (the Astrodome) (Houston)

    Citations of Merit
    Cummins Irwin Conference Center & Office Building (Indiana)
    Opa – Locka Airport Hangar 102 (Florida)
    National Gallery of Art East Building Exterior Stone Repair (Washington D.C.)
    McGregor Reflecting Pool (Michigan)
    Lewis and Clark Branch Library (Missouri)

    The projects recognized for the Modernism in America Awards (#ModernismAwards) highlight the importance of such modern typologies as transportation centers, sports arenas, banks, schools, libraries and landscapes. While often at the center of intense preservation efforts, they deserve and can be preserved in a meaningful and productive way that enhances their presence and value in their respective communities.  

    View PDF version of announcement. Click here to download images of the winning submissions.


    2015 Award of Excellence 

    Photo Credit: The Port Authority of New York & New Jersey. Photographer: John Bartelstone
    Design Award of Excellence | Commercial
    Queens, New York
    Photo Credit: National Trust for Historic Preservation
    Advocacy Award of Excellence 
    Houston, Texas


    Photo Credit: Johnellisphoto.com, 2014
    Design Award of Excellence | Residential
    Long Beach, California
    Photo Credit: Kevin Roche John Dinkeloo and Associates, LLC
    Design Award of Excellence | Civic/Institutional
    New Haven, Connecticut


    Photo Credit: David Glomb
    Design Award of Excellence | Civic/Institutional
    Palm Springs, California
    Survey Award of Excellence 
    New Haven, Connecticut


    2015 Citation of Merit

    Photo Credit: Hadley Fruits, 2014
    Design Citation of Merit | Commercial
    Columbus, Indiana
    Photo Credit: Robin Hill
    Design Citation of Merit | Commercial 
    Miami, Florida
    Photo Credit: James Haefner Photography, Troy, Michigan
    Design Citation of Merit | Civic/Institutional
    Detroit, Michigan
    Photo Credit: Lindsey Derrington, 2014
    Advocacy Citation of Merit 
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Photo Credit: National Gallery of Art
    Design Citation of Merit | Civic/Institutional
    Washington, D.C.

    2015 Modernism in America Jury 





    The independent design and survey prize jury was chaired by Michael Mills, FAIA, who is a founding partner of the architecture firm Mills + Schnoering Architects, LLC and an expert in the preservation of historic architecture. Renowned modern architecture authors, educators and speakers on the jury included:  Gretchen Pfaehler, AIA is the President of the Association for Preservation Technology International and a leader in the Architecture and Preservation fields with over two decades of experience in the preservation, restoration and renovation of historic buildings and landscapes globally. Dietrich Neumann is professor of the History of Modern Architecture and Urbanism at Brown University whose research concentrates on European and American architecture from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Jack Pyburn, FAIA is an architect and partner of Lord Aeck Sargent and adjunct professor at Georgia Institute of Technology’s College of Architecture. Theodore Prudon, FAIA, FAPT is a leading expert on the preservation of modern architecture and a practicing architect in New York City and the President of Docomomo US. 
    The Docomomo US Modernism in America Advocacy Awards were awarded by the Docomomo US Board of Directors.
    The Awards will be awarded during the Docomomo US National Symposium on Friday, June 5, 2015 at the IDS Building in Minneapolis, Minnesota. 
    The Modernism in America Awards is the only national program that celebrates the people and projects working to preserve, restore and rehabilitate our modern heritage sensitively and productively. The program seeks to advance those preservation efforts; to increase appreciation for the period and to raise awareness of the on-going threats against modern architecture and design. 
    The awards acknowledge the substantial contribution preservation in general and the postwar heritage in particular makes to the economic and cultural life of our cities and towns and their respective communities. The awards also set a standard as to what can be accomplished with the productive preservation of these projects. 
    The 2015 Modernism in America Awards is made possible through the generous support of the following sponsors and supporters:
    DSGN Associates                               
    Keystone Preservation Group
    Mills + Schnoering Architects, LLC    
    Prudon & Partners, LLC
    Barry and Judith Solar
    Gail Addiss
    Donald Albrecht
    Jennifer Ball
    Deborah Berke & Partners Architects
    Barry Bergdoll
    Cary Bernstein Architect
    Meredith Bzdak
    Adele Chatfield-Taylor
    Flora Chou
    Jean-Louis Cohen
    Carl Erickson Design
    David Fixler, FAIA
    Kenneth Frampton
    Friends of the Upper East Side
    Martin Gorman
    Esley Hamilton
    Harboe Architects, P.C.
    H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture LLC
    Jablonski Building Conservation, Inc.
    Brenda Levin
    Barry Lewis
    John Lura
    Ken Lustbader
    Ruth Lynford
    Pauline Metcalf
    Michael Mills, FAIA
    Anna Mod
    Edward Mohylowski
    Henry Moss, AIA
    Jack Murchie
    Thomas Nissley
    Alan Orenbuch
    Hunter Palmer Wright
    Edith Payne
    Robert Pullum
    Robina Ramsay
    Kathleen Randall
    Rothzeid Kaiserman Thomson & Bee, P.C.
    Saltaire Properties, Inc.
    Susan Schwartz, Ph.D.
    Robert Sharp
    D’Juro Villaran-Rokovich
    Lynnette Widder
    Barbara Yanni
    Penny Zaleta
     Visit the Modernism in America Awards page for more information about submission guidelines. 
    P.O. Box 230977
    New York, NY 10023
    Terms of use | Contact | Privacy Policy | Credits
    © 2016 DOCOMOMO US Google+