DOCOMOMO Residence Grant 2008

DOCOMOMO International is delighted to open the 2008 call for candidacies for its residence grant in Paris to support research on the conservation and the documentation of buildings, sites and neighborhoods' of the Modern Movement.

The call for applications is open to all active DOCOMOMO international members (registered since 2006) from any country with no age limitations.

This two-month grant (July-August) will offer the opportunity to one of our international members to conduct research on the Modern Movement and to spend two months in France in one of the studios of the Couvent des Recollets, a Seventeenth Century convent located in the heart of the city which houses the French Order of architects (library and exhibition spaces) as well as a residence for artists and architects.

Deadline for submissions: February 1, 2008APPLICATION PROCEDURES

All candidates interested in applying must send:

(1) a three-page statement on their research project, explaining the need to spend two months in Paris and the results they intend to achieve during their stay,

(2) a one-page schedule of work,

(3) a one-page resume,

(4) a short statement explaining the activities and commitment toward DOCOMOMO.

Although there is no stipend associated with the grant, the candidate will also benefit from a working space with all facilities (fax, internet, telephone) at DOCOMOMO International Secretariat in the Palais de Chaillot/Cité de l'architecture et du Patrimoine

The application deadline is February 1, 2008.

All DOCOMOMO international members (architects, conservationists, architectural historians, students...) are strongly encouraged to apply. The result of the selection will be announced by the end of the month of February 2008.

All applications will be reviewed by the members of DOCOMOMO's Advisory Board:

Hiroyasu Suzuki (DOCOMOMO Japan)

Lluis Hortet y Previ (DOCOMOMO Iberico)

Wessel de Jonge (DOCOMOMO Netherlands)

Theodore Prudon (DOCOMOMO US)

Scott Roberston (DOCOMOMO Australia)

Hugo Segawa (DOCOMOMO Brazil)

France Vanlaethem (DOCOMOMO Canada-Quebec)

Ola Wedebrunn (DOCOMOMO Denmark)


For More information please click here