2024 Modernism in America Awards


Now in its 11th year, the Awards celebrate the documentation, preservation and reuse of modern buildings, structures and landscapes built in the United States or on U.S. territory. The Awards recognize those building owners, design teams, advocacy and preservation organizations that have made significant efforts to retain, restore and advocate for the aesthetic and cultural value of such places.


Nominations are now open for the 2024 Modernism in America Awards. 

Early nomination deadline: May 3, 2024, at 11:59 Eastern
Nominations close: June 7, 2024, at 11:59pm Eastern


Review the nomination guidelines carefully before submitting and contact awards@docomomo-us.org  with any questions. 

Award Categories  


This juried award recognizes informed, thoughtful and creative design efforts to preserve, restore or adapt a modern building, structure or landscape of local, regional or national significance, securing its presence for future generations. Design Awards are recognized in the following sub-categories:

  • Residential
  • Commercial
  • Institutional/Civic


This juried award recognizes exceptional efforts to document, inventory and/or create a preservation plan for one or more modern buildings, structures or landscapes of local, regional or national significance. Nominations may be submitted in the form of a website, book, publication, or exhibition. 


Presented by the Docomomo US Board of Directors, this award recognizes outstanding efforts to preserve and advocate for threatened modern buildings, structures or landscapes of local, regional or national significance through advocacy efforts. This award seeks to recognize preservation and advocacy organizations and other groups (including Docomomo US chapters) who have gone above and beyond to work collectively and collaboratively to advocate for a modern site or structure. 

Students who have been involved in research or advocacy are encouraged to nominate their projects in the appropriate category.

2024 Awards Jury

Docomomo US is pleased to announce five distinguished members of our community who will serve as the 2024 jury of the 11th annual Modernism in America Awards, the only national program that celebrates the people and projects working to sensitively and productively preserve, restore, and rehabilitate our modern heritage.

2024 Awards Committee

The Awards Committee helps shape the annual program by reviewing nomination and eligibility guidelines, selecting jury members, and providing guidance on submissions on a case by case basis. A sincere thank you to this year's committee: Meredith Bzdak (committee chair), Rita Cofield, Jingyi Luo, Tonia Moy, Theodore Prudon, and Amy Van Gessel. 


The Modernism in America Awards is the only national program that celebrates the people and projects working to preserve, restore and rehabilitate our modern heritage sensitively and productively. The program seeks to advance those preservation efforts; to increase appreciation for the period and to raise awareness of the on-going threats against modern architecture and design while acknowledging the substantial contribution preservation in general and the postwar heritage in particular makes to the economic and cultural life of our communities.


Previous Award Winners