Modernism in America Awards

  DOCOMOMO US invites submissions for the 2015 Modernism
  in America Awards. The awards celebrate the
  documentation, preservation and re-use of modern
  buildings, structures and landscapes built in the United
  States or on U.S. territory. The Awards recognize those
  building owners, design teams, advocacy and preservation
  organizations that have made significant efforts to retain,
  restore and advocate for the aesthetic and cultural value of
  such places.

  Winners of the 2015 Modernism in America Awards

  Submission period is now closed.

  Previous winners:
Modernism in America Awards 2014




DOCOMOMO US works to exchange knowledge, stimulate interest, and advocate for the appropriate protection and preservation of significant modern buildings, sites, neighborhoods and landscapes in the United States. DOCOMOMO US is committed to the principle that modern design merits the same attention to preservation currently received by earlier periods of architecture. 


Design: This juried award recognizes informed, thoughtful and creative design efforts to preserve, restore or adapt a modern building, structure or landscape of local, regional or national significance, securing its presence for future generations.
NEW! Design awards will be given in EACH of the following categories: residential, commercial and institutional/civic architecture.  

This juried award recognizes exceptional efforts to document, inventory and/or create a preservation plan for one or more modern buildings, structures or landscapes of local, regional or national significance.

Advocacy: Presented by the DOCOMOMO US Board of Directors, this award recognizes outstanding efforts to preserve and advocate for threatened modern buildings, structures or landscapes of local, regional or national significance through advocacy efforts. This award seeks to recognize preservation and advocacy organizations and other groups (including DOCOMOMO US chapters) who have gone above and beyond to work collectively and collaboratively to advocate for a modern site or structure.


Michael Mills, FAIA is a founding partner of the architecture firm Mills & Schnoering and an expert in the preservation of historic architecture. He is currently serving as the Partner in Charge of Design and Preservation for the renovation of Eero Sarrinen’s Hill College House dormitory at the University of Pennsylvania, and his preservation and renovation projects have won a number of awards including the National Trust Honor Award in 2005 for renovation of the landmark Essex County Courthouse in Newark, New Jersey and the AIA Award of Merit from AIA/NJ in 1994 for Princeton’s Graduate College. Last year, Mills and Schnoering and their restoration team won the Design Citation of Merit in Docomomo US’ inaugural Modernism in America Awards for their restoration of Louis Kahn’s Trenton Bath House and Day Camp Pavilions. 

Gretchen Pfaehler, AIA Gretchen Pfaehler, AIA is a leader in the Architecture and Preservation fields with over two decades of experience in the preservation, restoration and renovation of historic buildings and landscapes globally. She is the President of the Association for Preservation Technology International, the Director of Preservation and Assistant Vice President at Michael Baker International, and the Chair of Washington D.C.’s Historic Preservation Review Board. Pfaehler received her Bachelor’s Degree in Architecture from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee along with a Certificate of Architecture from the Ecole Speciale d’Archiecture in Paris, France. Her work has received more than 27 national, regional, state and local preservation awards.


Dietrich Neumann is a Professor of the History of Modern Architecture and Urbanism at Brown University whose research concentrates on European and American architecture from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, His books include Film Architecture: Set Design from Metropolis to Blade Runner (Prestel, 1996), Richard Neutra’s Windshield House (Harvard, 2001), Architecture of the Night (Prestel, 2002), and “The Structure of Light”: Richard Kelly and the Illumination of Modern Architecture (Yale, 2010). He has curated a number of exhibitions that include  “Film Architecture,” “Richard Neutra’s Windshield House,” “Unbuilt Providence,”  Friedrich St. Florian: Retrospective,” and “Luminous Buildings: Architecture of the Night.”


Theodore Prudon, FAIA is a leading expert on the preservation of modern architecture and a practicing architect in New York City. Dr. Prudon has worked on the terra cotta restoration of the Woolworth Building, the exterior restoration of the Chrysler Building, and of a 1941 Lescaze townhouse in Manhattan. Dr. Prudon teaches preservation at Columbia University and Pratt Institute. He is the recipient of a Graham Foundation Individual grant for his book “Preservation of Modern Architecture”. He is the founding President of Docomomo US and a board member of Docomomo International.




Jack Pyburn, FAIA is a historic preservation architect and Director of the Historic Preservation Studio at Lord Aeck Sargent. He has over 40 years of experience. He received his Bachelor of Architecture from Texas A&M University and Master of Architecture & Urban Design from Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri. Pyburn is a member of the AIA College of Fellows and former chair of the AIA/Historic Resources Committee Advisory Group. He teaches historic preservation architecture at the Georgia Institute of Technology and served as the Harrison Distinguished Critic in Historic Preservation in 2012-2013. He currently serves as the Secretary on the Board of Docomomo US.



Winners will be officially announced in April 2015 with an awards ceremony set to take place Friday June 5, 2015 at the DOCOMOMO US National Symposium in Minneapolis, Minnesota. They will also be featured in DOCOMOMO US publications.

The 2015 Modernism in America Awards is made possible through the generous support of the following sponsors and supporters:
DSGN Associates                               
Keystone Preservation Group
Mills + Schnoering Architects, LLC    
Prudon & Partners, LLC
Barry and Judith Solar
Beyer Blinder Belle
The Waterproofing Company
Gail Addiss
Donald Albrecht
Jennifer Ball
Deborah Berke & Partners Architects
Barry Bergdoll
Cary Bernstein Architect
Meredith Bzdak
Adele Chatfield-Taylor
Flora Chou
Jean-Louis Cohen
Carl Erickson Design
David Fixler, FAIA
Kenneth Frampton
Friends of the Upper East Side
Martin Gorman
Esley Hamilton
Harboe Architects, P.C.
H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture LLC
Jablonski Building Conservation, Inc.
Brenda Levin
Barry Lewis
John Lura
Ken Lustbader
Ruth Lynford
Pauline Metcalf
Michael Mills, FAIA
Anna Mod
Edward Mohylowski
Henry Moss, AIA
Jack Murchie
Thomas Nissley
Alan Orenbuch
Hunter Palmer Wright
Edith Payne
Robert Pullum
Robina Ramsay
Kathleen Randall
Rothzeid Kaiserman Thomson & Bee, P.C.
Saltaire Properties, Inc.
Susan Schwartz, Ph.D.
Robert Sharp
D’Juro Villaran-Rokovich
Lynnette Widder
Barbara Yanni
Penny Zaleta

Eligibility and Guidelines


Early nominations must be submitted by TBD.
All nominations must be submitted by TBD.

Please contact DOCOMOMO US at awards(AT) regarding any questions or clarifications.

Download a PDF version of this announcement.

P.O. Box 230977
New York, NY 10023
Terms of use | Contact | Privacy Policy | Credits
© 2015 DOCOMOMO US Google+